PDA

View Full Version : Martial Art Styles

aikido_student4
11-04-2005, 05:00 PM
Hey,

I've been a student of martial arts for ten years and am currently enroled in aikido and was in tae kwon do (please excuse me for any spelling mistakes) about two or three years ago, which are the only two styles I've been in, but i was wondering what everyone's favorite style was and wondered what I should try to learn next. Thank you to any one who helps me out or even post any thing under this.

Dim Wit Mak
11-04-2005, 06:44 PM
AS4: Here is my one and a half cents. Study whatever interests you. Martial arts are supposed to be fun as well as deadly serious. There is a good chance they will never by used in a fight anyway, unless you are training for the UFC. My own tastes run in the direction of kenpo, jujitsu, and the various kung fu styles. My son studies aikido. If you like the instructor and the style, then you are in a winning situation. Too much advice can lead to paralysis by analysis, so listen to others for awhile, make up your own mind and go for it.:)

aikido_student4
11-04-2005, 07:34 PM
Thank you, I truely appreciate your guidence and all that you taught me even to you if it doesn't seem like much to me it was.

Dim Wit Mak
11-04-2005, 08:04 PM
You are welcome. You sound like a very dedicated student of the martial arts. I have always respected a person who puts diligent effort into any undertaking. You may know that the term kung fu can be translated as diligent effort. God bless.:)

SPJ
11-05-2005, 07:59 AM
TKD is Iron palm in Korean.

Aikido is a derivative from JJJ.

One is for punch and kick. The other is for yielding and throw.

Try to blend the 2 first.

Sometimes the answers are from looking inside first rather than looking outward or elsewhere.

:rolleyes:

SPJ
11-05-2005, 08:07 AM
Q. How many styles are there in Kung Fu?

A. There are 7 colors in the rainbow.

hint: there can be many varieties from mixing the colors.

Q. What is your fav style?