PDA

View Full Version : Random Training Stuff

Merryprankster
11-05-2005, 06:26 PM
So, I've been lifting consistently now for about 8 or 9 months and it's paying dividends. I'm in a weight class sport (BJJ), so I can't put on too much weight and that really isn't my goal anyhow. Right now, I'm about 208, which I'm dropping to 200 or so for a tournament in December (for those of you who remember, I used to compete at 187, but I got tired of cutting that much weight, so I started hitting the weights.

Getting into the above 205 realm for competition would really require a LOT of muscle gain... it's a 20-25 lbs weight class spread I think, so hanging out at 210-215 wouldn't cut it!!!

Anyway, I have to say I've settled into a routine that's really going well for me.

I lift three times a week, circuit routine twice a week (High intensity cardio training w/ HR around 85-90% max). BJJ 4-6 times a week.

Day one: Bench and Squat
Day two: Power Clean and Press (the press isn't terribly strict. I want the weight overhead, strict military press form isn't the goal here), Bent over row, lat pull downs, close grip, using a towel to simulate a gi
Day three: Bench and Squat

The next week, I do Bench and squat once and double up on the other workout. Where I only have the one day of lifts in a week, I use that to add weight.

5x5 seems to work best for me. I was trying 3x10s for a bit, but I was CONSTANTLY sore and tired, even eating a lot. I switched back to 5x5's and it's much better for me. I'm not working even close to failure. Consistency and continued lifting is my goal, not failure and studies have shown that failure is not the only way to get strong. I have so many other activities, blowing myself out isn't a good idea anyway

Weights for the curious, as of right now

Bench: 235
Squat: 285 (I don't go ankles to ass, but I do break parallel by quite a bit - half squats are for pussies)
Clean and Press: 150