PDA

View Full Version : Some research notes concerning Tang Lang

Sal Canzonieri
11-06-2005, 05:16 PM
I've been researching CMA history for many years and my articles are in various KF mags, including this one (Kung Fu magazine).

I find it interesting about Tang Lang, that when the names of the 18 masters and their styles are reviewed, they are all from the Sung Dynasty time period.
Which adds credence to the theorygoing around a few yearts ago that Tang Lang actually got its start during the Sung Dynasty (early part) and not Qing dynasty.

2 or 3 of the 18 names are students of Monk Zhao Tong, who is known for being General Yueh Fei's teacher.
He taught Ba Shan Fan (now called Fantzi Quan).

Also, the classic hooked Mantis hand can be found in various forms from the Yueh Fei style.

mantis108
11-06-2005, 07:46 PM
As far as my understanding goes, the 18 Families Sonnet originally came from "Luohan Xing Gong Duan Da Tuo Pu" (Arhat exercising merit short strike illustrated manuscripts). The manuscript has many versions which includes one called Shaolin Yi Bol Zhen Chuan (Shaolin Authentics).

Some scholars suggested that Luohan Xing Gong Duan Da Tuo Pu (herein known as the manuscript) is in fact a body of work reflecting the indigenous folk martial arts knowledge in the Province of Shandong around the mid 1700s. It is believed that the author, Shengxiao Daoren, cleverly borrowed the Shaolin fame. The 18 families sonnet actually are styles that are recorded in various Ming dynasty martial art books and could readily be found in Shandong. Shengxiao Daoren could have been a native of Shandong (west of Lao Shan, Qingdao). He also seemed to be a very travelled person. In the introduction of a later edition, he or his student claimed that the original copy of the manuscripts was "taken" by one of SXDR's students in capital of then Manchurian territeries (modern day ShengYang).