PDA

View Full Version : Southern Farmer, Northern Aristocrat

Mega_Fist
11-07-2005, 01:33 AM
Right, I heard that southern martial arts were for farmers and people who plough fields and that northern martial arts were for lords and aristocrats.

Is this true? If so, is this still true?

"True power comes from essence of spiritual" (I created this saying)

Fu-Pow
11-07-2005, 02:01 AM
Right, I heard that southern martial arts were for farmers and people who plough fields and that northern martial arts were for lords and aristocrats.

Is this true? If so, is this still true?

"True power comes from essence of spiritual" (I created this saying)

Yes...I am a southern farmer...would you care for some okra or peanuts?

Ben Gash
11-07-2005, 02:39 AM
Well, as China is a Neo Marxist state, there is no aristocracy, but northern martial arts seem to be popular as ever. I've never understood where this comes from, the founder stories of most northern styles talk of villagers or monks (sometimes both). Only Taizhuquan and eagle claw can really make any claim, and both their "founders", while genuine historical characters, have a whole host of folk myth attached to them, and crop up in stories about all manner of things, so it's doubtful that they really were the founders.
Also, this is a strange idea that there were no farmers in the north and no gentry in the south, and I think this is from Qing dynasty prejudice and propaganda, as the Imperial court in the north were mainly Manchu, whereas most people in the south were Han.

joedoe
11-07-2005, 02:57 AM
This sounds strangely like ... Ego Maximus :D

Ben Gash
11-07-2005, 05:28 AM
Indeed, that's exactly what I thought when I read it :rolleyes:

David Jamieson
11-07-2005, 08:34 AM
In the North, there was Mao Tze Tung, a Communist.

In the South, there was Chang Kai Shek, A Nationalist.

In the west, there's a lot of stories.:D