PDA

View Full Version : Wah Lum Tam Tui question

patient student
11-15-2005, 07:49 AM
Hello all,

My name is Justin and I was wondering if I could bother you for some information regarding Praying Mantis. I am new to this system and I saw an opportunity for me to ask some questions to people out there who share a similar interest as me.

I have some questions regarding the style I study at my school in Massachusetts. Currently I am not able to be at home, but I have been trying to do my own research on Wah Lum Pai Tam Tui since I left. I intend on picking up right where I left off, but there are some informational gaps that should be filled if I want to take this more seriously. I am curious about the breakdown from the original style and how it finally came to become the style I currently learn. At my school I study Wah Lum Pai Tam Tui Northern Style Praying Mantis. I know praying mantis originated as one, and then splitting into two other forms; Northern Style and Southern Style. I currently study under the northern style praying mantis, so that is the branch I am currently concerned with. And correct me if I am wrong, but under the northern style mantis it then breaks into 12 different styles:

Seven Star = Chut Sing
Plum Flower = Moi Fa
Tai chi = Tai Gick
Plum Flower Tai Chi = Moi Fa Tai Gick
Wrestling Hands = Jut Sow
Secret Style = Bay Moon
Jade ring = Yuk Yuan
Six harmony = Lok Haap
Eight Step = Baat Bo
Rigid = Ngan
Flat Plate (Spotless) = Gong barn
Goddess Chi = Sun Gick