PDA

View Full Version : Real Chi Sau??

william
11-24-2005, 01:38 PM
Does any one have any clips/comments on real chi sau?

By that I mean clips that are of two people doing it that are about the same level and both trying to resist?

Many of the clips that you see on the net make chi sau look really tight and impressive, and I guess that has put it in my mind that when I perform Chi sau it should be looking like it does on the clips.

However, when I do chi sau (granted i haven't been doing it very long) it doesn't look anything like it does on the clips, a lot messier, at lot more resisting, and just a lot more like fighting, I guess.

I guess there are two reasons for this, 1 I am not very good at it, and 2, most of the time the clips are just demonstrations of chi sau drills, or they are of people who are very experienced (i.e. teachers) demostrating on students.

So is real chi sau messy or am I doing something wrong?

Cheers

W

anerlich
11-24-2005, 03:32 PM
"Performance overrides precision" - Scott Sonnon

Real fights don't look much like demos or Kung Fu movies either. They're often as messy as he11.

I think this is true of most MA's. Jiu-Jitsu, for example, is a lot more interesting to watch, it flows and you generally see much better and more complex technique, when the participants are going at 50-70% rather than all out. If they go all out people just tend to grab a position and hold it.

Even some of the best fighters in Pride, even real showmen like Sakuraba, often end up in ten minute bouts that are almost total tedium for the viewer.

Emin Boztepe, among many others, has some great-looking chi sao clips out there, but mostly he's demoing against people who are not in his class (which is just about everybody). Really good looking chi sao in my experience is better to watch when one person's skill level is significantly higher and the resistance is not all out, though there is some.