PDA

View Full Version : Wah Lum's "Iron Door Bolt" Form

taichi4eva
12-26-2005, 08:53 AM
Is there any footage of this form? Why is it known as "little mantis"?

Thanks

Donkwoon
01-03-2006, 12:26 PM
Someone on this site said that it's demomstrated in a film called "Modern Masters" (I think). Let me know if you find it because I would like to see it as well.

I didn't konw that it was called "Iron Door Bolt" but it sounds like it has something to do with the footwork. Just a quess. When compared to the more advanced WL mantis forms, it becomes clear why it's called Little Mantis.

I've been practicing that form for a long time and I love doing it. I'm still learning things from it and have even got some ideas from this forum.

Hua Lin Laoshi
01-03-2006, 12:44 PM
Is there any footage of this form?

It's on the Living Legends of Kung Fu volume 1 tape/CD.

Why is it known as "little mantis"?

You'll have to ask Master Chan Pui because he named it Little Mantis. He also named Wah Lum's version of Bung Bo Big Mantis.

This is all I can share right now.

http://media.putfile.com/dscf003025

taichi4eva
01-03-2006, 02:00 PM
I don't know why the link is not working on my computer. What is it that you shared though? Is it a clip of the form?

Hua Lin Laoshi
01-03-2006, 02:24 PM
Probably don't have the right codec.

It's not a very good clip, or a very good performance.

Try this - http://media.putfile.com/DSCF00302552

Oso
01-03-2006, 02:42 PM
HLL, that was Little Mantis?

It was clear enough to see it.

tc4e: I can't get Putfile to play on my work computer. If you're at work or behind a firewall or server, that may be the problem.

Citong Shifu
01-03-2006, 03:00 PM