PDA

View Full Version : Respect In Dojo

Beau Brummie
12-29-2005, 04:24 PM
Hi Guys

I'm a newbie to Kung Fu and have only been training for 5 months. Another MA asked me if I called my teacher Sensei?

I said no and as it was Kung Fu it would be Sifu anyhow.

He then asked whether I called him Sifu and I answered no I call him by his Christian name.

A look of horror came on his face and he said I was/am deeply disrespecting my teacher.

Is this the case? I have never been told by my teacher to address him as Sifu and I have never been rebuked by him for using his Christian name. When other newcomers join I have never heard him ask them to call him Sifu either? Having not been instructed to do anything different I called him by his name as I would anybody else. As far as respect goes my teacher has it anyway as would any other human being.

Is there a problem here? None of the other more advanced students have made a point of telling me this. I would hate to think I'm disrespecting him in any way.

This guy I was talking to also said I should bow on entering and leaving the training hall. I haven't been taught this either.

Can you clear this one up for me guys as I'm enjoying my training and want to make sure I get the etiquette right.

Thanks
Chris

syn
12-29-2005, 04:37 PM
Well I call my sifu by sifu (:p) and bow when enterign and leaving, but it's a really a preference to the sifu you train under. Some are more strict and others aren't. If you see alot of other people in your school calling him by sifu you probably should too. He may just be nice and not say anythign but it does show respect. It's more the atmosphere of the school that determines this, so if your sifu is more laid back and would rather be called by his last name then by all mean.

hskwarrior
12-29-2005, 05:50 PM
It is customary for a student to call his sifu by that title. I have been with my sifu for about 25 years now and still never call him by his given name.