PDA

View Full Version : Chronic Pain Disability & Training

hellhound
01-04-2006, 01:13 PM
I studied IMA/JMA for awhile and continued to do so when I got this condition. At one point it just became to painful to due to certain techniques and keeping up with class. Since I have too much (to never fight at all is best) fighting experience and some solid training under my belt I felt if I really poured my heart into DVDs would work as I am a detail oriented person. After searching through many of the internal styles not in the big 3 I found and now do Wudang Xiao Yao Zhang. My wife trains the Wudang 18 form new frame and practices the application side of it intensely. So I have a training partner and we spar and whatnot together. We also do standing together. I get to train at my own pace in a style I like much more than the ones I studied at a school. Of course I'll never be able to truly master it however it still allows me to train in MA and benefit from it unlike people who never trained or fought and studied out of books/DVDs. I was wondering what peoples opinions are on this since I have experience and proper training or if there is other styles I might want to look into also (not too many quick turns as I am on morphine, lower/60 degree angle hand movements, can be medium paced like bagua, does not twist me too much and my problem is my kind of like spinal arthritis so low impact and not harsh on the spine, short forms). Also any good muscle relaxing/pain tips would be highly appreciated. One thing to keep in mind is that I do not want to do Taijiquan, it is too slow and it would cause me pain to take 20 minutes to do a 10 form frame. I thank you for any replies given. Regards and happy new year.

hellhound
01-05-2006, 10:33 AM