PDA

View Full Version : Bodyweight or Resistance Training?

chrisb
01-10-2006, 07:42 AM
Hi,

Just a quick note to say that I'm not asking for a academic run-down of which is best - rather I would like to know which would be more suitable in my position.

Here's a bio of me:

Background
I have previously trained in both Shaolin Kung Fu (mainly) and Jeet Kune Do (minorly), though this was a few years ago. I re-started my Kung Fu training 3 months ago and have been fine since - no injuries have occured.

In order to regain some fitness for Kung Fu I have been swimming 1KM 5 times a week since March 2005, and more recentley (last two weeks) have started running 20-30 minutes 3 times a week (and I'm really crap at running!).

I am naturally quite flexible; I can perform front splits without warm up and am inches away from achieving lateral splits post-warm up. My dynamic flexibility is also good and I am able to perform the standard types of kicks to a good level.

Stats
Height: 5'9
Weight: 160lbs
Bodyfat: Haven't a clue, but I could benefit from losing some.

Situation
I can train between 7:00AM and 10:00AM every day, and could also fit in another hour or two session during the day or evening on most days (university student so my timetable is quite flexible).

Facilities
I have access to a 25M swimming pool (along with jacuzzi, sauna etc :p), the university gym (cardio machines and weight machines - no free weights) and a studio (empty room above the gym). There are very few outdoor locations that would be suitable for training.

Current Ability
Arms: Weak/Moderate - my MA focuses primarily on technique and little strength work is incorporated for the upper body. Any strength has been derived from striking.
Chest: Moderate - swimming has helped improved strength.
Stomach/Back: Moderate - makes up a part of MA training.
Legs: Moderate/Strong - MA focuses on low stances and works the kicks.

Goals