PDA

View Full Version : Hip and waist mobility Chi Kung for Ba Gua?

Scarletmantis
03-10-2001, 02:14 AM
I read a message authored by Waidan concerning a Chi Kung for waist and hip flexibility. Anyone care to share for us MA's who are estranged from our Shirfus?

"The essence of life is struggle and it's goal is domination. There are higher goals and deeper meanings, but they exist only within the minds of men. The reality of life is war."

count
03-10-2001, 02:44 AM
Bagua Chi Kung is a very complex system of chi kung. In many ways more complex than the martial art itself. Where exactly is Dulzura? I am in California and maybe I could direct you to a good teacher who teaches this. I don't think anything I can say would make much sense without a better understanding in the first place. If it helps I think snake, bird and unicorn will help.

Waidan
03-10-2001, 08:09 AM
Our Snake and Qiling are sets I focus on for developing strength and flexibility in the waist.

I'm pretty new to our system (1 year)so an explaination of the movements would be as likely to hinder as help.

One thing I can suggest is the circular "mill press" excercise (probably the same thing you'd be taught your first day of Yang push-hands). Repeatedly opening and closing the hips while twisting the waist (keeping shoulders and hips aligned) is a good starting place. Of course you may be WELL beyond this, but it's the best advice I can safely offer.

P.S. Count has a very extensive list of internal instructors on his site. I'd take him up on his offer!

count
03-10-2001, 02:57 PM
Just a note to say that the list of instuctors (http://kabooom.com/htmls/baguaschools.html) on my site is gathered from the pa kua journal and the internet. I can only vouche for 2 that I know teach accurate methods of baguazhang and bagua chi kung. One in San francisco and one in Los Angeles. E-mail me direct for information.