PDA

View Full Version : pavel and low reps

GunnedDownAtrocity
02-16-2006, 11:26 PM
before i had my lil problem a couple years back pavel was all the rage around here, but lately i've caught a few mentions here and there of the disadvantages of low rep work outs over time. something along the lines of it destroying any muscular endurance.

i have been lifting again for several months now and have been thinking about going that route to mix things up a bit. ill still be doing body weight exercises and jujitsu for endurance so would that be alright or are there still other things to watch out for?

n.mitch
02-17-2006, 01:00 AM
I think if you just want muscle size( because your ma training takes care of your cardio then low reps with heavy weights has to work best, the big pros use that method eg. ronnie coleman, dorian yates. who have been the biggest over the last 14 years ,they must be on to something, yates used mike menzter method of one set to failure which normally meant 8 reps per exercises with 1 light warm up set,abs he did higher reps.
Even thought those guys are on the juice, Skip la cour uses the same method and he is natural. the only thing is those guts do one body part per week.

GreenCloudCLF
02-17-2006, 06:04 AM
GDA,

First, let it be known I am a personal trainer, so my advice is going to cost you.:D

As long as you are getting cardio and endurance training going, using heavy weight/light reps, is the easiest way to build strength and size. All routines should be based on your goals obviously.

I am a hard gainer, so I lift heavy weights, trying to increase me size and strength, but once I hit a point I am happy with, my goal changes to maintence of what I have.

So what are you fitness goals?

SevenStar
03-03-2006, 11:47 AM