PDA

View Full Version : Please advise

Destrous9
03-19-2001, 04:53 AM
Hello.

I am in serious need of advice, and would appreciate any insight/input on my dilemna.

I am a 33 year old, happily married, father of 1 wonderful daughter. For 10+ years I have been a student of the Tao, and Taoism. I enjoy the philosophy, as it assists me in staying balanced during the chaos that can be 'every day' life. Over the past 10 years I have also picked up a serious interest in the Internal Arts, and have picked up books on Hsing-I, Emei BaGuaZhang, Chin Na, ChiGong, and not too mention alot of material on Chi.

This is my problem:

My interest in study the Internal Arts has lead me to seriously desire to train in Hsing-I and Ba-Gua. I want to train desperately, but...there are no instructors/teachers in my area. I have searched for a few years(...and searched, and searched), but being that I live in a smaller city, the closest teacher of these disciplines in 2+hours away. This driving distance is far too great for me to endure 2+ times a week and would take far too much time away from my family life (4 hour round trip drives ...argh).

What options do I have?

Under my circumstances, would studying from books and videos be considered honorable or worthwhile? If so, any recommendations on authors/styles? From all that I have read and studied up until now, I do have a sincere appreciation for the detail that is involved in training in the Internal Arts, and a part of me thinks that self=study would be considered laughable.

..or do I ...