PDA

View Full Version : There is only ONE Wing Chun....

Sifu Moore
03-24-2006, 09:53 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sifu Parlotti,

The post "two sides of the coin" hits it right on the head. I have been saying it for over 10 years now ....There IS only one wing chun and it ecompasses many different expressions of the same art. Just like the title of your post "Two Sides Of The Coin" nails it all by itself for the enlightened reader...their may be two sides , but the bottom line is that it IS still ONE COIN.

This is why I have always choosen to reach out to any positive expressions of wing chun and to avoid the psssing contests that I used to engage in early in my "wing Chun childhood". Besides its such a waste of time to argue with fools as a wise man once told me.

I dont have to aggree with everyones apporach, but before I reject it , I test it and attempt to get the viewpoint of someone who utilizes and understands that approach at a fairley muture level. Ultimately, it must be tested in combat and then if it works for me 80-90% of the time, then I will absorb it. I dont care where it comes from if its effective and subscribes to WC principles in the context of the situation.

I thought that Wayne Belonoha exressed it well in his book the "Wing Chun Compendium" when on page 19 & 20 he disscussed Theory, Fact, Principle and the need to be able to balance competing demands. Balancing competing demands "to provide the most overall economic solution to a problem" in my opinion, again, hits it right on the head, and go's to the fact that different expressions of energy are approriate or in context at different times. " Being too fast, taking the shortest route, or using too little energy many NOT be the most effective. Use as much motion, time, and energy as necessary-no more -no less"