PDA

View Full Version : need advice, training with fractured rib?

Kapten Klutz
03-25-2006, 03:25 AM
I'm new to MA and to my style, so I really need some advice. My school is wc but there is contact sparring at higher levels, and to lead up to where we can spar we progressively increase the amount of impact in drills. To make a short story shorter, something glitched and I took an unexpected hard shot to the flank from an 85 kilo guy who can punch.:eek:

Now I wonder, does anyone have any tips for training with a broken rib? The doctor's advice seems a bit too much on the safe side: no training at all for 1 month, no contact training for 1 month after that. I'd hate to be gone that long from my class, and wonder how soon people usually start with lighter training again. For example, if something doesn't hurt (too much) is it okay to do it? Could I do pushups after, say one week, but should I avoid situps? Obviously I don't want anyone hitting my trunk for a good while, but could I train techniques with a partner without contact? Worth noting is that my healing time will be slower since I'm almost 40. Any advice or descriptions of your experiences are very welcome.

Kapten Klutz
03-27-2006, 12:02 AM
Doesn't anyone know anything about this? I did a search but it came up empty. I can't believe I'm the first person training kung fu to ever break a rib. But it is the first time for me so I don't know anything about it.

Chief Fox
03-27-2006, 08:42 AM
Yeah, the doctor knows something about this but it sounds like you don't want his advice.

The doctor will probably error on the side of being conservative but I would at least take two weeks off completely and then see how you feel from there.

Kapten Klutz
03-27-2006, 11:04 AM
Yeah, the doctor knows something about this but it sounds like you don't want his advice.

The doctor will probably error on the side of being conservative but I would at least take two weeks off completely and then see how you feel from there.