PDA

View Full Version : Torn ACL

waterleopard
04-14-2006, 07:33 AM
Hello All,

I've been practicing kempo for a few years now and just tore my ACL. I'm curious to hear from anybody who has had ACL reconstruction surgery, and also from those who didn't but continued with MA training. Just wondering what I'm in for either way.

Thank you for your suggestions.

Ford Prefect
04-14-2006, 08:24 AM
I'd find the best doctor in your area, the one professional athletes would go to, and get the surgery. Jump into PT with both feet. Be extremely dilligent about doing everything they want you to.

Liokault
04-14-2006, 08:50 AM
I did my ACL and my MCL quite badly.

I didnt walk for 2 weeks, and I didnt walk unaided for a month.

The last time I went into the hospital to review a cat scan the bdoctor didnt belive that I walked in with out crutches. She said that the MCL was as badly damaged as it can get with out it being broken.

I had no treatment other than light physio.

Anyway, over two years latter, I am fighting in San Shou again and grappling on the mats like it never happend.

The only side effect is that every now and again, i'll be walking in a straight line and suddenly 'fall' about a foot to the left as my ballance (from the nearve damage) is not quite right.

I should spelll check this........but im not going to:eek:

Judge Pen
04-14-2006, 08:50 AM
I tore my ACL in July of '04. I tried to get by without surgery but it just wasn't stable enough. I had surgery in November of '04. I followed the doctor's order and hit the PT hard (home excercises and everything). By July of '05 I was 100%. My reconstructed knee is stronger than my other knee.

I know people that have torn their ACL and never had surgery. It just depnds on the individual and what you want to do with it.

Judge Pen
04-14-2006, 08:51 AM