PDA

View Full Version : Cost of your training

Stranger
04-02-2001, 07:56 PM
I have my first Hsing-i class this Sunday. The group meets once a week for two hours. The cost is $90 per month.

I am new to the CMA scene, and therefore unaware if this is typical. I am a poor grad student. I mean no disrespect, but every extra dollar I spend hurts. Is there any reason a contract should be signed (if that turns out to be their policy)?

"Luminous beings are we."

count
04-02-2001, 08:01 PM
This has come up before with lot's of input from different schools. $90 a month sounds steep to me but not uncommon. Depends on the instructor if it is worth it. Some yes, most no. Would you like to post their name?

Water Dragon
04-02-2001, 08:12 PM
Taijiquan = $ 150.00/year & Pain
Shuai Chiao = Pain & Bruises

Although there are many styles, they all depend on the strong beating the weak and the slow falling to the quick. These are not related to the power that must be learned -- Taiji Classics

Stranger
04-02-2001, 08:26 PM
I don't think posting his name will help much, Joe Dunphey. I asked about him in an old thread and got zero responses. He was recommended on Mike Patterson's web site.

count
04-02-2001, 08:39 PM
That's a really good recommendation but since I don't know him I really can't comment. I pay 35 a month for a really good teacher in TCMA. I also pay 110 a month for my daughters Tae Kwan Do. I have seen some of the best charging 90 a month and I would say this is well worth it and have also seen the opposite. This probably doesn't help much but it wouldn't hurt to try it out for a few months and see. Let us know what you find out!P

Stranger
04-02-2001, 08:54 PM
count,

Who is your teacher? That is awesome. How many hours of training time do you get for that? What size is your class? Should I be investigating other options as well at this point?

Sorry for the Inquisition, but you are always good with the answers.

count
04-02-2001, 09:02 PM