View Full Version : Capability??

PangQuan
05-08-2006, 02:21 PM
One of the current threads sparked my interest in this.

I have been studying martial arts for roughly six years now. Three of those years at my current tcma school.

my teachers is skilled, through many years of hard practice. the first half of his life was spent in temple life, thus temple training. He has expressed in the past how little time many of today's martial artists have actually put into thier practice.

total hours.

as he once said, on average 2 years of a standard student of his, equals out to about 6 months of his early training. this is the average 2 hours a day 3 days a week type of student. Not all of his students are such. he also speaks of how rapidly skill will decrease with out continual practice.

with this in mind i often ponder at what point will i feel capable of teaching. sure i know i can take someone with little to no martial experience and make a big difference in thier life. Yet i still do not feel even close to comfortable with the idea of being a teacher. This i know will take time, i feel i have been lucky enough to have found a young master. one who has put in the time and is very capable still of performing everything he wants to teach.

So, the question i put to you all is this;

when is someone capable of opening a school? I have seen many people who hold the title "sifu" who have studied the same time as me, or less even! Are these people natural genius's? have they got something I dont? or do they have no scruples as to pass themselves off as masters of thier techniques?

pondering this has confused me to no end. at some points it is frustrating to think that people with roughly the same skill level as me are teaching and owning thier own schools.

also just wanted a new topic. this place is feeling stagnant.

neilhytholt
05-08-2006, 02:32 PM