PDA

View Full Version : question about wing chun

BruceSteveRoy
05-12-2006, 05:51 AM
i will admit that i know very little about wing chun. from what i have seen it looks very efficient. its a quick and to the point martial art ( at least thats what i see). i was told that it has very few hand forms. i figured the best way to get accurate information about the system was to ask the wing chunners. so i was wondering how many hand forms are in the system and what their names are. Sorry if its a stupid question but i am curious. Thanks.
~steve

Kapten Klutz
05-12-2006, 06:12 AM
I'm quite new to WC but this link helped me with the same question:

http://www.wingchunkwoon.com/empty.asp#top

It contains a summary of the 3 hand forms, the dummy form and 2 weapons forms, and film clips. Hope it's useful to you as well.

ntc
05-12-2006, 06:19 AM
You should also be aware that there are different variations of Wing Chun. The most popular is Yip Man Wing Chun from Hong Kong. Others originated elsewhere, either directly or indirectly, including from China (FutShan, Hung Fa Yee, etc.) and Vietnam. Very commonly you will see the discussions cenetered around the Hong Kong WC from Yip Man, and in this style, as Kapten had mentioned, includes 3 empty hand forms, 1 wooden dummy form, 1 staff form, and 1 knives form.

BruceSteveRoy
05-12-2006, 06:22 AM
Awesome thanks. which form is this ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jJX216fiIbs&search=wing%20chun

BruceSteveRoy
05-12-2006, 06:28 AM
o wow! i have been trying to find out about a sifu that on this website for a few months. weird how these things just fll into your lap sometimes. i don't know why i didnt just ask here to begin with.

New Jersey

Mount Laurel - Master Keith Mazza
The Traditional Wing Chun Kung Fu Academy
3747 Church Road
mount Laurel, NJ 08054
(856)231-0352