PDA

View Full Version : Internal Arts and Health

BruceSteveRoy
06-28-2006, 11:37 AM
I will be the first to admit i don't know much about the internal arts so i figure i should check with the people that do. I was curious about the health benefits they offer. The question i have is whether the health benefits are typically of a preventative nature or curative nature. I am sure they are for both and i know that its such a general question. But any information would be great. Thanks.
Regards
~steve

Crushing Fist
06-28-2006, 12:56 PM
well first I am no expert...

but from what I understand the Chinsese way of Medicine focuses a great deal more on prevention than the Western.

In the West Medicine is a War... We're battling diseases.

Whereas it is my understanding that the Chinese way would be better described as Cultivating Health.

Supposedly, in the olden times it reflected poorly on a chinese doctor if his patient became ill. Contrast that with the west where one would not see a doctor unless there was already an illness.

I think the health benefits from internal arts are in line with this "cultivating health" approach, though there may certainly be curative effects as well.

BruceSteveRoy
06-29-2006, 11:31 AM
Thanks. That is a very interesting insight and not something i had considered before.

qiphlow
06-29-2006, 06:45 PM
some health benefits are:

lowered blood pressure
better circulation to extremities
less stress
strengthened immune system
better sleep

and i'm sure there are more...

Ray Pina
06-30-2006, 07:45 AM
My master has helped me in so many ways I could never really repay him.

I used have have really bad knees from a condition (oshgoodslaughter sp?) a lot of teen boys get and then from football... and I'm sure holding horse stance all those years in karate and Hung Gar didn't help either.

Now, because of a taiji excerise my master showed me, I have no pain, even during rain, which is something I haven't experienced since 5th grade.