PDA

View Full Version : Chi translates as what?

Sui
07-23-2006, 03:06 AM
good morning gentlemen i hope all is well with your practicing of learning.

just 1 question to see what you are learning,either self taught/realisation or taught by your insurficient sifu.

what is the translation of chi?or what does it mean to you?
the reason i ask is that i see on tv or read that its far from the truth unless any can prove me wrong,i'm sure some one can.

your nice sui.

David Jamieson
07-23-2006, 09:56 AM
"breath".

This is the literal translation.

Fu-Pow
07-23-2006, 10:34 AM
Chi translates as breath, however, it is more than that.

The motion of breathing out is caused by a contraction of the diagphragm which creates a pressure differential in the lungs. As you relax the diaphragm air can rush in causing an expansion.

Breathing, when done correctly, is a whole body motion. Its a contraction and expansion starting from the very center of the body.

So when you do qi gong (breath work) coordinated with motions of the body you create this expansive and contractive motion through your whole body to the very center.

This has the effect of moving more blood and lymph around through your body, which is very healthy and cleansing to your body.

What we feel as "chi" is actually more blood getting out to your extremities and you are feeling the whole hydroelastic quality of your body in unison.

People want to equate "chi" with the electricity of the body. There may be something to this. If the body is evenly hydrated electricity may be able to flow more evenly and smoothly through the body.

However, keep in mind that originally Chinese medicine had no concept of nerves. The body is electric in a sense but alot of that "electricity" is actually the chemo-electric functioning of nerves.

fiercest tiger
07-23-2006, 11:28 PM
Life!!!! Lol

David Jamieson
07-24-2006, 06:18 AM