PDA

View Full Version : Kung-Fu Uniform Name?

Giuseppe_S
08-01-2006, 11:34 AM
hello sorry to be a pest, i'm quite new to Kung-Fu as i have been mainly training in Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu, but i was wondering what is the name for a Kung-Fu Uniform, as i am aware that in Karate its known as a Gi and in TKD its known as a Dobok, also the style i have just started in is Hung Kuen and was wondering what colour is usually worn i.e is it all black or can you wear Black with white buttons and white sleeves with the Mandarin Colar, again many apologies for the questions.

Thanks in advance

David Jamieson
08-01-2006, 11:39 AM
It's called a kungfu uniform.

the black frog button baby is also called a taichi uniform.

the sleeveless is soutrern kungfu uniform.

the long sleeve is northern kungfu uniform.

the crappy sky blue/orange/pink/chiffon yellow is called a wushu unifrom

the saffron and grey uniforms are shaolin robes

whatever the chinese word is for "uniform" is suitable I think.

Eddie
08-01-2006, 11:56 AM
if you want to get fancy, you can use Kung Fu Yi Fu 功夫衣服 :cool:

Ben Gash
08-01-2006, 02:09 PM
I was speaking to my Sigung about this a couple of months ago and he said there isn't really a Chinese name as it's only really a uniform for us in the west, in China it was just the kind of clothes you work out in. Ironically he just calls it a Gi because people understand it.

TenTigers
08-01-2006, 02:22 PM
yeah, a Tai-Chi uniform, uh-huh, and a tai-chi sword, and tai-chi slippers.
For laughs, try asking a Chinese person what they are, and if he ever stops laughing, he may tell you.
There is no such animal, unless you get all your information from catalogues and magazines.

Guizeppe-if you are studying at a school, wouldn't your Sifu tell you what he expects you to train in? Is there a school uniform? If not, look at what the other students wear, and ask them where to buy them.