PDA

View Full Version : Turning Style vs. Wing Tsun

Cat Nap
08-14-2006, 08:43 AM
First off - this isn't to start a debate over which is better. I'm curious which of the two styles people consider more practical in terms of self defense. Thanks in advance folks.

godzillakungfu
08-14-2006, 09:09 AM
Ha ha ha.

That is pretty funny.

Here is a poll to see which is more "street" effective but, it isn't style vs. style.

Cat Nap
08-14-2006, 09:13 AM
No, really, I'm not trying to be funny. I've studied Turning Style and think it's great actually. But since Wing Tsun was intented for more street fighting, I'm curious if practioners find one to be an advantage or equal in self defense.

AmanuJRY
08-14-2006, 09:52 AM
Go try WT, see for yourself and find out what you think about it.;)

I'm not sure of the 'Turning style' WC, I have not been exposed to it, but on the WT side I have some experience and I believe they're teaching some effective street fighting techniques. If street/reality fighting is your concern, they would be a good start.

couch
08-14-2006, 10:04 AM
That's not a very good poll...

What about the WC that I do?

I clearly think that IT'S the best!

;),
Kenton Sefcik

YungChun
08-14-2006, 10:12 PM
No, really, I'm not trying to be funny. I've studied Turning Style and think it's great actually. But since Wing Tsun was intended for more street fighting, I'm curious if practitioners find one to be an advantage or equal in self defense.
When you wrote Wing Tsun did you mean to identify with Leung Ting's version of the system? This is the spelling that generally denotes his lineage..

If so then WT happens IMO to be one of the families that uses turning more than most others..

If not then it would depend on who is doing the teaching..