PDA

View Full Version : Hung Kuen or Hak Fu Mun???

jmd161
09-02-2006, 10:30 AM
While i've been a student of Hak Fu Mun for about six yrs now, it was only recently that i've become interested in history and such. I'd say really about the last 3 yrs or so. I've been trying to research as much as i can, but it's really very difficult with the lil' remaining knowledge that's available. While my sifu posses a vast amount of knowledge, he's not very fortcoming with it. Sifu is more interested with our development, than talking about history.

He does share info with us, but it's very deliberate and when he wants to release info. What i have found out in my research and with bits and pieces that sifu has released, is this. That while Hung Kuen and Hak Fu Mun share a common bond, they really are not as close or alike as many would think. While both share a Tit Sin Kuen or Iron Wire form, they're nothing alike. The only form known to have crossed over between the two, is Hak Fu Mun's Ye Fu Kuen or Night Tiger fist which has been seen in some Hung Kuen lineages. It is not known how this form made it's way into these Hung kuen lineages, but it's assumed through the friendship of Wong Kei Yin and Soo Chi Er (Soo Hak Fu) that were known friends within the Kwangtung Sup Fu (Ten Tigers of Canton)

Back to my question at hand though...

It is known that Sam Dak (Tak) was Soo Chi Er's Tiger style master and Soo Chi Er was a master of the Tiger style. Now to my knowledge Hung Hei Goon is the one accredited with creating the base of what we call Hung kuen. Both learned their kung fu from Gee Sim. Some say Sam Dak was a layman that became a monk others say he was already a monk. It is also known that Wong Fei Hung during his lifetime mastered Hak Fu Mun through his fathers friendship with Soo Chi Er. Did any of his Hak Fu knowledge creep into Hung Kuen?

The question still remains which came first Hung Kuen or Hak Fu Mun, and did one influence the other?