PDA

View Full Version : Open Mind

MARTIALSTUDANT
09-13-2006, 06:20 PM
I well be the first to tell you I'm new to martial arts but from my experiences and from some of the post in here martial arts teach you a lot of things. They may teach you honor, respect, self discipline, confidance. But I rarely see martial artist with a open mind weather it comes to questions or concerns. So I would like to see if it's just me and my eyes or have you kind men/women experienced the same things?

sunfist
09-14-2006, 12:50 AM
Id say its a balance. Its good to always be receptive to new ideas, but at the same time you need to be grounded in simple and workable methods. Otherwise youll end up in all that tree hugging crap.

Samurai Jack
09-14-2006, 01:23 AM
Also be aware that what you see here on this forum does not necessarily represent whats out there in the world. Most of the martial artists I know in real life are painfully polite and open to discussion and exploring other styles. Here, you will find a different sort of personality represented. Perhaps it's the annonymity of the internet, or perhaps it's the sort of people who tend to train MA and post on internet forums.

I once told my sifu that I frequented KFM (back in the KFO days) and showed him the site. He browsed for about ten minutes and then looked at me with incredulity, "Do these people always talk to each other like this?" It's definitly a different culture, but I like it. It's sort of like hanging out at a biker bar where everyone happens to practice martial arts in thier spare time.

Scott R. Brown
09-14-2006, 01:36 AM
Hi MARTIALSTUDANT,