PDA

View Full Version : animals in wushu ?

golden arhat
09-29-2006, 04:46 AM
why do i never see crane leopard tiger or dragon performed in wushu ?
i only ever see eagle, praying mantis, monkey or other more obscure animals snake
why not 4 of the original animals ?
just doesnt make sense to me really

Ben Gash
09-29-2006, 04:51 AM
The five animals are not commonly expressed in northern styles, especially not the leopard and crane. As most wushu performers do northern style forms.......

BruceSteveRoy
09-29-2006, 06:30 AM
The five animals are not commonly expressed in northern styles, especially not the leopard and crane. As most wushu performers do northern style forms.......

i don't think you are entirely correct to say that the northern styles don't express the five animals in their forms. but i think i understand what you mean. i studied northern shaolin for a while and we did a lot of the five animal forms as well as fighting techniques and sparring with the animal styles. now in a southern style we have 10 animals and what i notice is that in the northern style we had tiger forms and leopard forms and crane forms and snake forms and dragon forms (btw northern dragon and northern leopard are awesome). but in the southern styles they have lots of animal techniques in each form. kind of like putting a bunch of animals in a giant kung fu blender. so i would say its just expressed differently rather than rarely expressed.

as for wushu i don't have the first idea about the content of their forms. all i know is they wear really shiny pajamas and run in circles and jump a lot. o and thier weapons are made from aluminum foil.

Ben Gash
09-29-2006, 07:48 AM
As I never said either of the things you've said are incorrect, I don't exactly know what to say. I just said it wasn't common, which it's not. Your previous school was pretty esoteric, and not a good measure for what is typical in northern schools.

SPJ
09-30-2006, 07:07 AM