PDA

View Full Version : Wing Chun Instructors In San Antonio Texas

xicano7
10-01-2006, 10:47 PM
Hi,
I will be in San Antonio this coming January for 3 months. I am planning on learning some Wing Chun while I am there. I've looked online & saw a couple of schools which look fairly good. My question is for anyone who has some insights on which school would be recommended above the others. I am a beginner and would be able to work out 2-3 times a week. I'm looking for traditional WC & a good atmosphere. Since I will only be there for a short while, at least for now, I know that I will be very limited in what I learn, but as long as I get a good foundation I will be fine with it. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

AmanuJRY
10-02-2006, 07:11 AM
There is a high level Leung Ting guy there, William Parker, he's wrote some cool articles on training and chi sau and has a reputation for being a good instructor.

xicano7
10-02-2006, 07:24 PM
Thanks for the reply. William Parker & Gilbert Leal were the two I was looking into. I guess I'll make my decision once I'm there & check out the classes. I was just wondering if anyone knew the good & bad of the schools to help me decide one way or another. They both look like they know their WC, so I guess I can't go wrong. Thanks again.

EBMAS Plano
10-05-2006, 01:49 PM
I'd recommend you add Nico LaHood to your list.

He runs the EBMAS Wing Tzun club in S.A. and was for many years William Parker's highest ranked student-instructor.

He is an amazing martial artist who doesn't care about politics and is solely focused on training hard and smart.

Now, at risk of sounding political, i can assure my next statement is based solely on character and soul. William Parker is one of the reasons i stayed with Emin Boztepe when he split with Dr. Leung Ting and Mr. Kernspecht. While he is a very talented Wing Tsun instructor who taught me alot, it is everything else about him that helped make my decision very easy.