PDA

View Full Version : Liu Ho Pa Fa

BDKF
07-18-2001, 06:44 PM
I have an instructional videotape of Helen Liang teaching Water Boxing. I am amazed by its movement and her apparent power in techniques as well as stances. I have about 10 years of martial arts experience in a soft style of kung fu. Is it possible to learn water boxing from this tape? Does anyone train in it that can offer me some advice or tips? Thanks.

bamboo_ leaf
07-18-2001, 07:09 PM
I think that if your basics are good and you really understand the essence of your training, you should be able to pick up any type of movement that you like.

Like having a glass of water, the glass can be any shape as long as the water retains it’s essence it’s still water. IMHO the type of glass is not really that important.

Sorry i don't play that style, from some of the things i've read and seen in mag. it looks very intersting.

enjoy life

bamboo leaf

Ky-Fi
07-18-2001, 11:12 PM
BDKF,
A few years ago Liang Shou Yu taught this form(or part of it--I haven't seen this video) at YMAA, and I took a 16 session class that Dr. Yang offered shortly thereafter. As Dr. Yang is not a master of this style, it was just an intro course to give us an idea of the flavor of it. Although we spent a few classes covering applications, I feel that this form(and softer styles in general)are harder to learn than some other styles(especially from videos), in that the applications are a little more hidden and harder to easily grasp. I still practice this form, and I think it's one of the coolest looking forms I"ve ever seen, but I have to be honest in saying it's kind of "flower fist, brocade kicks" as I practice it :)---my knowledge is just really shallow. Some of the flow and applications are similar to Taiji, and I could get a bit of a handle on those, but I think it definitely has a flow all it's own, that I didn't grasp that well.