PDA

View Full Version : Video?

MattEl
10-06-2006, 10:12 AM
Does anyone have links to video clips of kung fu working in NHB and/or real world fight situations?

I am visiting a lot of places as I try to start training for the first time (in, something), and I am trying to reconcile my impression that while they look a lot more - interesting - than just artlessly punching or kicking a sandbag, or grappling, traditional m.a. just don't seem all that practical. My doubts increased when I saw the video of Jason DeLucia getting his ass kicked by Royce Gracie.

But I'm a total novice, and would love it if a bunch of you could prove me wrong.

The Xia
10-06-2006, 10:19 AM
Check out San Shou. Regardless of what people say, the techniques are from Gong Fu. It's just that rules, gloves, etc do not permit many techniques. Also, read some Chinese martial arts history. Gong Fu was used for real combat. You generally don't see great TCMA fighters in MMA venues. Most TCMA fighters that are interested in combat sport go for San Shou.

MattEl
10-06-2006, 10:24 AM
Is san shou the same thing as Sanda?

The Xia
10-06-2006, 10:28 AM
Yup. They are different terms that refer to the same thing.

MattEl
10-06-2006, 10:28 AM
"Most TCMA fighters that are interested in combat sport go for San Shou."

-- Okay, but this brings me back to my initial question --> why would they be doing the TCMAs if they only worked as San Shou? (I'm sure I'm missing a few hundred things.)

The Xia
10-06-2006, 10:37 AM
I'm not 100% clear on your last question but I'll try to answer. Some guys just do San Shou and only train the stuff that is allowed in San Shou. Others do TCMA and use what they can in San Shou. There are allot of things from TCMA you can't use in San Shou, or any sport competition.

As for Jason Delucia, he refers to himself as a sensei and calls the praying mantis one of the five animals....

Becca
10-06-2006, 10:41 AM