PDA

View Full Version : Sei Ping Ma

The Xia
10-14-2006, 10:29 PM
I was wondering what people feel about horse stance training. What has it given you?

I found this article. I feel it does a good job of summarizing the benefits. http://www.hungkuen.net/training-stancetraining.htm

Wu-Tan-Nan
10-16-2006, 12:23 PM
Im a noob at Mabu training, but i can after only some months feel i have a much stronger stance.
I like it!

qiphlow
10-16-2006, 12:53 PM
as part of my taijiquan, i do some yiquan martial stance work, some standing meditation, and also i will take postures from the form and do stance training with them. by no means do i have the time or the inclination to hold these postures for hours upon hours (maybe 1-2 minutes per posture at most, each leg); however, even this little bit of stance work helps tremendously with overall body alignment while doing forms, with feeling grounded, and with leg strength and muscle endurance. i will, from time to time, do some sei ping ma work, but it's not my favorite. i think that anyone can find a way within their chosen discipline to do some kind of still posture training or stance training. a liitle bit can go a long way toward improving your gongfu.

yutyeesam
10-16-2006, 05:11 PM
Sei ping ma training was fine. My first gung-fu teacher made me hold it for 30 min every day. Definitely got some good strength training out of it. But when I learned how to sink into my Sei Ping Ma while executing a hand technique, and how to CORRECTLY transition to other stances to maximize power generation from my CLF teachers is when my skill hit a new level.

SevenStar
10-18-2006, 10:15 AM
plenty of muscular endurance. Not much in the way of strength, tho.

Golden Arms
10-18-2006, 12:19 PM