PDA

View Full Version : Wingchun, Sensitivity, Hand Speed

Shadow_warrior8
10-31-2006, 10:04 PM
I have been training in wingchun for a few years now, and I find whenever I meet someone with great hand speed, the sensitivity I have in chi sao, doesnt really work. Well at least for me.
I find when I pivot to receive, my body moves slower than the attacking hand, or when I move my hand to redirect the force, its just not fast enough.
My malaysian sifu says, when your hand cannot save you, use your body to save.
Is sensitivity really enough? My HK sifu says, wingchun is about sensitivity and we dont really train hand speed, rather relaxation and sensitivity.
If you hands move slower to deflect or redirect, what good is sensitivity? We cant block or redirect the hand in time. Or if he doesnt play the chi sao game, he strikes without engaging, what good is sensitivity then?
Sorry not knocking chi sao or sensitivity, just trying to get some alternative views.

Here is a clip of great hand speed. http://www.tommycarruthers.com/video.htm
Looking forward to some views here.

Edmund
11-01-2006, 12:08 AM
If you hands move slower to deflect or redirect, what good is sensitivity? We cant block or redirect the hand in time.

Well if your hand is not fast enough then you aren't really that sensitive.

Or if he doesnt play the chi sao game, he strikes without engaging, what good is sensitivity then?

No good at all obviously. It's applied when you're in contact. You can't really use it when you aren't in contact.

Hendrik
11-01-2006, 12:13 AM
I have been training in wingchun for a few years now, and I find whenever I meet someone with great hand speed, the sensitivity I have in chi sao, doesnt really work. Well at least for me. ------