PDA

View Full Version : Who originated the Tiger and Crane form?

YongChun
11-14-2006, 03:20 PM
Hello,

I studied a village type of Hung style in the 1960's which doesn't have the Tiger and Crane form but have always enjoyed seeing this form. A good friend of mine knows it very well as he learned it when he was young from a good master in Hong Kong and has practiced it dilligently ever since.

On reading various websites I notice there seems to be some debate as to who originated this form. I wonder if the readers of this forum would agree with this history that I found yesterday?

http://www.quandoman.com/Article3.htm

Thank you,
Ray

nyhakka
11-14-2006, 04:55 PM
I was told by Hung practioners that live in HK that it was indeed Wong Fei Hun g that developed the Tiger Crane set.

TenTigers
11-14-2006, 08:40 PM
well, Tang Fong Hung-Ga has the ng long bot gwa gwun as well as the fu hok seung ying kuen, and we are not from Lam Sai-Wing line, so either that speaks for itself, or other Tang Fong people should step forwatd. Where is Jei li Sifu when ya need him, as well as Franc?

Fu-Pau
11-14-2006, 10:37 PM
I would just like to state for the record that I don’t study Hung Ga… so I don’t particularly care!:D :) :D :cool:

Laukarbo
11-14-2006, 11:37 PM
tiger and crane was modefied by wong fei hung...it already existed before him in a different version...then again evrything before wfh is word from the mouth sou never know...:D

chasincharpchui
11-15-2006, 07:23 AM
tiger and crane was modefied by wong fei hung...it already existed before him in a different version...then again evrything before wfh is word from the mouth sou never know...:D

well there is still dispute bout the supposed photo they have of him

has anyone heard that it was wong kei ying that developed the tiger and crane form and wfh modified?

David Jamieson
11-15-2006, 07:31 AM
who cares really? I mean, what difference does it make. It's there now and the points for posterity have been made.