PDA

View Full Version : High kicks?

X-Warrior
11-22-2006, 09:08 AM
OK, when I studied kung fu (praying mantis), for years my teacher used to stress over and over that high kicks are uneffective and impose danger on you because you reveal weak points on your body and they travel long way to their targets, therefore are easily detectable, blocked or evaded.

Now, I just watched this video clip of kyokushinkai (karate) fighters fighting against kung fu fighters - two matches, one looks like a drunken stylist, the others appears shaolin. The drunken stylist clearly gets beaten badly, the shaolin dude does better but still gets pounded on.

Anyway, the interesting point is that by far - and I really mean by far - most of the techniques scored on the kung fu guys were high kicks!! The karate guys barely even used any hand techniques, they just kicked and kicked and kicked and 80% of their kicks were high kicks!!

Why are high kicks so useless? I guess it's just more of a brainwash to stick to one style and effectivness really means how well you can use what you know. I mean I can see my instructor's point but these karate guys clearly demontrate high kicks ARE effective. As it is proven on the video, they are actually their most effective weapon.

Any comments? :confused:

-X-

Ben Gash
11-22-2006, 09:27 AM
One of the most dangerous fighters I ever met was Kyokushin fighter who used to work the doors in Buenos Aires (pretty seriously rough). He had unbelievable kicking ability, and reckoned to have been in over 300 fights, over 150 of which he ended with a kick to the head. Now the key to this was A) he was a REALLY good kicker, B) the mechanics of his kicks (which are what I still use) presented a very direct path of travel for the foot and fully engaged the hips C) he could kick you in the head when standing shoulder to shoulder with you and D) he understood how to link his hands and feet and create opennings for the kicks.