PDA

View Full Version : Basic questions

iri
08-30-2001, 06:42 AM
I am new to Tai Chi and I was wondering if it was OK to practice after working out?Is the 48 posture set just the same as the first 24 reversed? Also I have this really odd problem for my age. Every joint in my body snaps when rotated. I assume that is not good. Any ideas what would cause that? Also, are there any good sites that have all the postures and details listed out about each one?
Peace,0ptikal

Repulsive Monkey
08-30-2001, 10:52 AM
Doing Tai Chi after doing a work out (you didn't mentioned what it s exactly you do during your work-out) can have some benefits, such as , as the muscles are tired this can help relaxation a bit (admittedly in a slightly artificial way) and can help you give up on muscle tension a little quicker. However it would not be a good idea if you maintained the musclular tension derived from the work-out into your Tai Chi as muscular tension and Tai Chi don't go together. I'm not sure about your forms as my short form is 77 postures and my long form is 128 postures so I can't comment on your forms.
The bone clicking your mention, I usd to get that a bit when I first started Tai Chi but it soon went away. From a Chinese Medicine perspective it could mean that you have a slight Kidney defciency which I'm sure will be rectified by your perserverance in Ta Chi. Anyway, welcome to the world of nternal arts, hope your stay is fruitful.

iri
08-30-2001, 07:04 PM
Thanks for the Reply.