PDA

View Full Version : Greetings

Snake n Crane
12-12-2006, 04:56 PM
Hello everyone,
I am a WC practitioner from Oz. My lineage spans from William Cheung's line.

I am greatly interested in discussing the why's and wherefore's of Traditional WIng Chun.

I began in 1993 and have learnt from William Cheung, David Cheung, Sifu Joe Molnar and Sifu Peter Atkin (Sifu joe's senior student)

In looking around the world I have seen that the TWC I learn is greatly different from a lot of what I see.

I ask this question out of genuine curiosity....how many WC guys know what a close change and an open change is? Also how many of you know the full 7 stances. I am asking these questions of genuine curiosity so pelase take it is as that, not a challenge to anyone's style or skills!

cheers

SnC

anerlich
12-12-2006, 06:37 PM
I began in 1993 and have learnt from William Cheung, David Cheung, Sifu Joe Molnar and Sifu Peter Atkin (Sifu joe's senior student)

I've been a student of Rick Spain since 1989. In the late 1970's I also studied with David Crook who was a student of William Cheung's in the 1960's. I was graded to Gold Sash in TWC before we split with the WWCKFA.

how many WC guys know what a close change and an open change is?

I don't know, though I'll bet they're called something else in our curriculum. I have a very good memory, and eye for and interest in technical detail, but this terminology is new to me.

Also how many of you know the full 7 stances.

If they are in the forms - empty hand, weapons, dummy - I know them. Otherwise not.

Do I pass? Fail?

Terminology varies greatly, and there is no canonical version for WC - nor, apparently, for TWC.

And terminology can't fight.

Snake n Crane
12-12-2006, 07:04 PM
This is sorta why I asked the questions.