PDA

View Full Version : newbie san shou question

BruceSteveRoy
01-05-2007, 08:05 AM
hi all,
i am new to the whole san shou style of fighting i have a really beginner question. when you are fighting what do you look at on your opponent? where do you focus? do you watch his shoulders? hands? midsection? head? the thing with san shou that i find is that if i am training slipping i am focused so much on where the punch is coming from that if the person was going to kick me i wonder if i would even see it. or vice versa. so i know ovre time and with practice you learn to not have to think about this kind of thing and just do it but as a beginnger to this kind of fighting i would be curious to have your input. what s a good spot to focus on that can kind of show a persons entire body?

hjt
01-05-2007, 08:10 AM
hi all,
i am new to the whole san shou style of fighting i have a really beginner question. when you are fighting what do you look at on your opponent? where do you focus? do you watch his shoulders? hands? midsection? head? the thing with san shou that i find is that if i am training slipping i am focused so much on where the punch is coming from that if the person was going to kick me i wonder if i would even see it. or vice versa. so i know ovre time and with practice you learn to not have to think about this kind of thing and just do it but as a beginnger to this kind of fighting i would be curious to have your input. what s a good spot to focus on that can kind of show a persons entire body?

you have to watch everything, since in san shou youre allowed to clinch, shoot and throw. which throws your basic stand up , since now you have to worry about getting kicked, kneed and thrown

Pork Chop
01-05-2007, 08:59 AM
to get really technical, i probably center my vision between the solar plexus & dantien, focusing mostly on the upper field of my vision- on the guy's chest & shoulders, but still keeping some focus on his legs and feet.