PDA

View Full Version : What style is this?

The Xia
01-24-2007, 10:35 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1nsUR6hz5Fo
:confused:

Ben Gash
01-25-2007, 04:15 AM
Well it says it's Hakka bird style....... (although I must say it looks more Fujian than Hakka)

SPJ
01-25-2007, 08:47 AM
according to the narator in the clip;

it is 300 years old.

it incorporated "southern" fist and mimicked Hua Mei bird or "paint the eyebrow" bird. a very small bird picking up food with its beak.

--

:)

firepalm
01-26-2007, 02:54 AM
I would agree with Ben it looks a lot like what little I have seen of Fujian White Crane. But then I am also no expert on Hakka styles.

SPJ
01-26-2007, 08:50 AM
I have some knowing about southern white crane but no expert.

there is the feeding crane or Si He.

I venture a guestimation.

may be Hua Mei bird style just with smaller movements from the crane style.

I am biting my tongue.

--

:D

qiphlow
01-26-2007, 09:10 AM
...xingyi performed by a guy with parkinsons who decided to smoke the crack rock that day.

Shaolinlueb
01-26-2007, 10:29 AM
...xingyi performed by a guy with parkinsons who decided to smoke the crack rock that day.

thats what i was thinking, about the xingyi. it looked a little bit like it. looked a little bak mei looked a litle southern mantis. looks like a southern shorthand to me.

Fubokuen
01-26-2007, 10:49 AM

Pretty familiar with hakka kuen (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z3Zrdz3BxVE), huh?
Lots of Hakka in Fukien and there IS some similiarities with the White Crane of the area, but all Hakka kuen share elements, use those types of hands, bridging techs, power generation and style of steps. I like just about all that I've seen and there's never a huge variance...

qiphlow
01-26-2007, 11:31 AM
Pretty familiar with hakka kuen (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z3Zrdz3BxVE), huh?