PDA

View Full Version : Martial taiji in London UK?

CottonQuan
09-26-2001, 04:18 PM
Hello.
I am currently studying taiji under one of my sifu's "senior students". This senior student has been studying with the sifu for eight years. Well, the other day, I saw the senior student practising his chen style. There was no fajin. It all looked quite effortful and "external". The student has also said things to us like "it takes 10 years to learn how to fight with taiji".
These things make me think maybe the sifu doesn't know s*** about real taiji.
Can anyone recommend a good martial school in London England? Any advice gratefully received.
Peace, U.

dedalus
09-27-2001, 07:38 AM
http://www.tai-chi-chuan.demon.co.uk

dz
09-27-2001, 09:03 AM
Practical Tai Chi Chuan International (http://www.taichichuan.co.uk)

HuangKaiVun
09-27-2001, 02:48 PM
If you can, seek out Nigel Sutton - the author of the GREAT Taiji book "Applied Tai Chi".

Guandi
09-27-2001, 03:57 PM
but Nigel Sutton is living in Malaysia

CottonQuan
09-27-2001, 04:28 PM
thanks for replies so far. have heard iffy things about dan docherty - anyone with firsthand experience?
how about john ding?

Repulsive Monkey
09-27-2001, 05:08 PM
John Ding - Not first hand experience but he is a genuine Yang family lineage holder. He IS a reputable Master, no doubt!! He is the only disciple to of been taught by all 3 of Yang Sau Chung's (Yang Cheng fu's eldest son)Disciples. From what I hear he is a genine man and a traditionalist too.

Dan Docherty - Believes his style comes from a genuine Chang Sang feng lineage bearing (dubious). I know this is going to sound totally slanderous but I've seen him before and I think his his beliefs in the internal energies is minimal. As a Kung-fu fighter I think he is probably very capable. As a practioner of Tai Chi energetics I'm not so sure.

Repulsive Monkey
09-27-2001, 05:18 PM