PDA

View Full Version : Allow myself to introduce....

SixStringFist
02-01-2007, 11:49 PM
...well you folks know how the rest of that goes. Just thought I'd pop in for a brief introduction before I hit the hay for the night.

I'm relatively new to the martial arts...I'm 23 and I've only been training for two-ish years now, under Sifu Charles Bigham in Sigung Tak Wah Eng's Fu Jow Pai system. I'm currently working through the five animal forms, the first of which is whole-heartedly kicking my butt :)

I'm a musician by trade (electric guitar...feel free to argue about that not being an instrument) and took up Kung Fu mainly for the health benefits, both mental and physical. Long story short, in the two years that I've been training, I've kicked both my cocaine (19 months clean) and marijuana (5 months clean) habits, but I'm still working on cigarettes. I credit the principles of Kung Fu in my drive to become clean and sober. Without my training, I don't think I would have conquered the addictions.

I try to be open-minded in terms of martial systems, in that I see no one system as inherently superior. I strongly believe in the commonality among most systems, even those of highly divergent techniques. Like I said, to me the martial arts are primarily a health/spiritual pursuit, an art form if you will. Self-defense happens to be an extraordinary fringe benefit.

I look forward to sharing comments and conversations with all of you. I have my flame-proof suit and troll repellant at the ready at all times :)

unkokusai
02-02-2007, 12:09 AM
... Long story short, in the two years that I've been training, I've kicked both my cocaine (19 months clean) and marijuana (5 months clean) habits, but I'm still working on cigarettes. I credit the principles of Kung Fu in my drive to become clean and sober. Without my training, I don't think I would have conquered the addictions. :)

Good on ya, man. Welcome!:cool:

TenTigers
02-02-2007, 08:18 AM