PDA

View Full Version : Freestanding wooden dummies - your experiences

darthmaul_wt
02-06-2007, 01:52 PM
Hi All,

I'm interested in getting a freestanding wooden dummy (as I'm likely to move soon and can't be done with all the bolting to walls/floor etc.).

The only one I can find is this one: http://www.immortal.co.uk/immortal-dummies.asp

I'm also really new to the dummy form and would therefore really value people's experience as to whether you can use this freestanding dummy ok? It looks to me like your feet might need to go where the base is at times?

(oh yeah - and I'm in the UK, so whilst highlighting dummies you can get in USA, Hong Kong etc. will be interesting, I'm particularly interested in UK solutions!)

Many thanks, Luke

anerlich
02-06-2007, 02:49 PM
It's hard to tell exactly how good or otherwise this dummy may be without actually trying it ... try to do that if you possibly can.

On the face of it this doesn't look too bad. The dummy appears to be toward the front of the base, and while with some leg movements it still might slightly get in the way, I have a similar arrangement (body and limbs purchased, base self-made) and it's pretty workable.

While it seems pretty well buttressed at back and sides, remember that some moves requyire you to pull on the dummy neck and arms, and it may be possible to off balance the dummy forward - I put a stack of weight plates on mine to stop this, but it's always still possible to unbalance the dummy in several directions of you try hard enough.

I've seen some dummies which look beautiful in photos but fail because the arms have too much movement and give no resistance, the height of the limbs doesn't suit you (you might be able to do something about this with fairly basic carpentry), they aren't strong enough, etc.