PDA

View Full Version : wing chun ballet and reviews

bios69
02-09-2007, 06:29 AM
hello,
I've been following for a while this nice forum and I found it very intersting.
I am a wing chun passionate, in reality I studied a little bit of WT 8WingTsu Leung Ting) some years ago and I mostly read about and studied books so I cannot think to be a real praticoner and this for many reasons I won't explain now not to bother any of you.
Recently I began to watch around for dvds, tapes about wc and I had the opportunity to watch a couple of Randy Williams tape, about combat drills and some application (combat drills part 1 and 2). In the past I had heard (I mean read on us/uk magazine) pretty good things about the guy, Randy.
I know he had written lot of books and produced a series of dvd (2 of which I saw, as I told).
The videos were totally disappointing; in his drills the rithym is like you are making your homeworks and not appling a teqnique; in training you should try to get as close as you can to realyty as everybody of you knows, instead he counts by voice ritmically to 10 repeating his drill in a stupid manner. Stupid because the focus is about the drill in a way it is considere not a fight teqnique but merely an execise.
I noticed he uses the bong sau as a block, I guess he knows an extremely external version of wing chun (if I can call it so, and I don't think I can).
Of course I see, in sum, he could be an effective fighter and I know because is written somewhere on his site he has been bodiguarding Seagal and other famous person, but what I saw isn't good wing chun.
I also watched a video of Eddi Chong about basics and was awful.
The teqniques very bad explained and seemed he didn' have any clear idea about.
What impressed me positively is Wing Chun in- figfting by master wong shung leung (a classic, I guess) is very basic but well explaine.