PDA

View Full Version : question about the term Wu-Shu

Giuseppe_S
03-02-2007, 10:04 AM
i was wondering is the term wu-shu given to the art practiced in the shaolin and is it a term that can be applied to TCMA such as Hung Kuen, Lau Gar, praying mantis etc etc.

cheers.

p.s sorry for the question you have to bear with me as i am quite new to the chinese martial arts.

PangQuan
03-02-2007, 10:09 AM
"Modern wushu is a dynamic performance and competition sport grounded in traditional Chinese martial arts. The cultural and combative tradition of wushu is retained as an integral element while the art and the sport of wushu is expressed physically and mentally. Wushu reigns as the most popular sport in China, and now is being considered for the Olympic games. In wushu, every movement must exhibit realistic combative application and aestheticism even thought its emphasis has shifted from combat to performance. Routines are performed solo, paired, or in groups, either barehanded or with traditional Chinese weaponry."

here is a start. you've opened a large can of worms. i am positive you will recieve plenty of reply's to this thread.

Giuseppe_S
03-02-2007, 10:19 AM
just to say that i havent started this thread as a means for flaming wars, i only want each individuals intake on the terminology "Wu-Shu" please keep it to a formal polite discussion.

thank you.

BruceSteveRoy
03-02-2007, 10:29 AM
quan fa or quan shu or just quan is the fighting or boxing methods.

da quan: you are practicing open hand fighting.

wu yi is the term to mean fighting arts including open hand, weapons, tactics and strategy etc

wu shu is more on techniques.

study of fighting would be wu xue.

so wu xue=wu yi+wu shu+---

Gong or kung was used as a practice of something.

Kung fu together means some thing or skills that need time and practice to be good at.

BruceSteveRoy
03-02-2007, 10:36 AM