PDA

View Full Version : Which comes first

TatewakiKuno
11-06-2001, 10:20 PM
I currently train in Shaolin Kung Fu. I'm new to it and I train hard. I spent 2 hours the other day just doing the same kick over and over(Lunbi Caijiao) just to make it perfect. The main reason I'm doing Shaolin Kung Fu is #1- because its one of the best fighting arts in my opinion and #2- To define and perfect my body. However, lately I've been feeling kinda empty. Like all the training is for nothing and that I want something more. So I have been considering changing over to Taijiquan and Chi Kung for awhile. I want to be able to feel my chi and use it to my advantage. Mastering the Inner and then working on the outter. My only fear is that it won't help me define and perfect my body. So can anyone give me some suggestions as what to do.

Keep going in SKF or Switch to Taijiquan and Chi Kung. Also can anyone reccomend good schools for taijiquan and chi kung in the manhattan area.

Thanks

Sam Wiley
11-07-2001, 12:26 AM
Everyone experiences those feelings at least once. It's a common thing. But it's not really necessary to completely change arts. On the other hand, if you feel that the style you are currently studying is not helping you acheinve the goals you have set for yourself, Taijiquan might be a good choice for you.

There are several good Taiji teachers in the New York area from what I understand. I don't know many of them, but Al Kruch, the WTBA rep in the US is in New Jersey. His e-mail is pr@nac.net if you would like to contact him. And I'm not sure exactly where Joe Petrosi is located, but he is a great guy and teaches Yang Jwing Ming's Taiji in New York. His e-mail is tai-chi-4-life@mailcity.com. He also has his own website at http://hudsonvalleytaichi.tripod.com

Crimson Phoenix
11-07-2001, 12:28 AM