PDA

View Full Version : Learning Martial Arts from Video!

Chief Fox
04-02-2007, 11:53 AM
So I trained at a kung fu school for 3.5 years and then with a private teacher for another 6 months or so. I am by no means an expert but I feel that I have more than a solid grasp of the basics with some intermediate and advanced stuff thrown in.

One of the things that I've always loved about my training was working with the staff. I love it, it's fun and I'm not too bad at it. BUT I've only got 1 staff form under my belt and a limited amount of techniques.

I decided two weeks ago that I was going to purchase a staff form on video. Here's the one that I got from good old martial arts mart: http://www.martialartsmart.net/tcck003.html

I discovered, because of my background and having a solid understanding of the basics, that I would be able to learn this form from video as well as improve my old form and have more of an understanding of applications.

This discovery really opens up a whole new world for me. I don't intend to go crazy with purchasing videos but when I do find one that I like, I will buy it, learn it and expand on what I already know.

I don't intend to teach or open up a school but I think that videos are a great way to expand your knowledge of kung fu and maybe even improve a bit. I don't intend to collect a bunch of forms, I just enjoy the training and sparring.

I'm lucky enough to have a friend who has an interest in kung fu and has had more years of training than I do so he can be my training partner in all of this.

So with the proper background, learning kung fu from video is not only possible but a great way to expand your knowledge.

Any thoughts on this?

neilhytholt
04-02-2007, 11:58 AM
As long as evil, greedy teachers who teach mostly forms without applications and do their best to scam money off of poor unsuspecting students go out of business, I have no complaint with whatever you do.