PDA

View Full Version : Chi Sao and Shoulder Fatigue

Lugoman
04-20-2007, 08:45 PM
Hello,

I've been doing Wing Chun for a little over 3 months now and recently began doing Chi Sao, well, just the rolling. My fellow newbies and I notice that our shoulders give out after about a minute of rolling.

My Sifu and senior students tell us that we need to learn to relax our shoulders, and this will come with time. Well, that is easier said than done especially when your partner is stiff as a board and his fook sao is like having a cinder-block hanging off your forearm .

My question is, are there any exercises outside of class that one can do solo that may help? I've tried doing the rolling with weights in my hands, but it's not the same energy and I'm also concerned that this may actually lead to bad habits. etc.

Liddel
04-20-2007, 10:38 PM
Using too much force in the beggining will cause many bad habbits IMO.

Also are you using the shoulder to raise Bong Sao ?

This can cause these problems IME, if you relax the shoulder and raise the elbow first it should feel better.

Its tough without seeing you practice. Bong Sao's not mean to hold an action.... there's a saying the "Bong Sao never stays"

So if your teacher has no problem with people using heavy hands, circumvent the system by turning to Tan sao faster so your not holding your opponents force.

Tan and Bong are brother/sister actions...when your bong is heavy, turn to tan sao and the force goes...when your Tan is heavy turn to Bong and the force goes....

Good Luck.

Lugoman
04-21-2007, 06:53 AM
Thank you Liddel,

I did the Tan/Bong Sao after reading your post and I do believe that I am doing as you say, raising my shoulder instead of my elbow first. And I do know that I have a tendency to pause on the Bong. I come from a Shorin Ryu background, so I'm still in the "strike-a-pose" mode with my techniques as was done in Kata and One-Steps, and the way we practice our individual techniques in WC.