PDA

View Full Version : Check this hsing-I site out, input please!!!!!

gazza99
10-23-2001, 11:30 PM
www.hsing-i.com (http://www.hsing-i.com)

Looks like a great site to me, I have been thinking of learning some Xing-I, and possibly some Liou He Ba Fa as well. Take a look at the MPEGS, I am not a Xing-I guy but it looks pretty good to me. Anyone here ever train under Mike P.?
Does anyone have any other suggestions for tapes in the above arts?
Thanks in advance,
Gary

"Of course thats just my opinion, I could be wrong"-Dennis Miller
www.pressurepointfighting.com (http://www.pressurepointfighting.com)

KC Elbows
10-23-2001, 11:33 PM
I've downloaded a lot of those before. I'm not an expert, though the art I practice is descended from hsing yi. It looks good to me. From what I understand, he's had a lot of success in san shou, but others might be more familiar than I.

CD Lee
10-23-2001, 11:37 PM
I go there all the time. Good stuff if you like Hsing-I. The forum there is pretty serious. Anything silly is just like, totally ignored. The forum is much slower that KFO forums.

Cool mpegs!

Braden
10-24-2001, 12:36 AM
Hey dude! ;)

Mike Patterson is great. He teaches real internal chinese arts and he teaches people to fight with them. It's his fighters who have cleaned up challengers from all styles in the ring. He also seems very nice and puts out alot of good info.

You can probably judge his clips better than I can. I don't think his bagua looks as good as his xingyi does, but then again xingyi does seem to be his primary style. I love some aspects of his approach to it though - you've got to love the palm-heel-elbow combo he reads out of 'hiding flower under leaf,' with his back mostly facing the guy rather than his front the way Erle does it. I've been playing a bit with that and trying to enter between his legs with my lead leg before going into pigeontoes so my lead thigh places pressure down and out on his thigh as the palm-elbow hits, to mix in a sort-of takedown.