PDA

View Full Version : Other WC Forums?

Lugoman
04-25-2007, 08:20 AM
Hello,

I stumbled upon this forum believing that this was a good, positive place to discuss WC without being subjected to a verbal double leg take-down, elbowed in the face repeatedly until I agree to give up Sui Lim Tao for Thai kicks and the RNC, like what happens on so many other MA forums. Was I wrong?

I don't mind questioning the techniques and principles of the art, I'm new to WC but not new to the MAs and I'm finding things in WC that may never work for me, but from past experience this is true in all MAs for me. But it gets a little trite when every thread morphs into "If they ain't doing it in UFC, it ain't no good" arguments.

I am open to the opinions of others even when I disagree, I actually like to hear differing opinions as it forces me to to look at the validity of my own, it either solidifies mine or helps to change them. But the broken record is getting so old and if it hasn't changed the minds of the few yet, it is never going to.

It doesn't drive me away from WC, it drives me away from the forum which leads me to the point of this post... are there better forums out there to simply discuss Wing Chun without getting into a virtual cage match?

ammocase
04-25-2007, 08:47 AM
UFC is a sport with rules, it comes close to reality but it still falls short, people who use UFC as a basis for a styles effectiveness in the real world need a wake up call.

Tom Kagan
04-25-2007, 09:40 AM
UFC is a sport with rules, it comes close to reality but it still falls short, people who use UFC as a basis for a styles effectiveness in the real world need a wake up call.

Without trying to get into a Street/Sport/MMA debate, what do you see as the way to properly measure a given style's "effectiveness in the real world" which would give tangible and repeatable results on which to make an informed opinion?

ammocase
04-25-2007, 09:56 AM