PDA

View Full Version : poor man's conditioning

yinyangcross
04-30-2007, 09:52 PM
I have been studying kung fu now for 3 months. I do not have a lot of money, so I was interested in the opinions of others about conditioning my hands, fore arms and legs by a series of controlled and progressive system of strikes on bricks, brick walls and trees..since these items are all free to me. Also, what is an economical way to work on speed?

Thank you

BoulderDawg
04-30-2007, 10:15 PM
I would be careful. Since you've only been in MA for three months I think your most important exercises are your conditioning ones, Push ups, set ups, leg lifts, etc.

Practice these along with your horse stance, kicks, strikes, etc.

I would not worry too much rightnow about iron bone training. However if you're hell bent on this I would get some training before I started frailing away on a tree!:D

Adventure427
04-30-2007, 10:19 PM
Well i wont comment on the conditioning because from what i've read you have to be careful with that stuff. Need good jow (from what i understand)

But speed...i can talk about speed. Speed comes from proper technique and repetition. Here's some tips...perform the move SUPER SLOW....like, matrix slow. Over and over and over.....(this will ensure that your form is perfect, maximizing your power).....and train just like that, then go just regular-slow (not matrix slow)....then medium speed....fast, ect. Do this kinda stuff all the time...mix it up. I used to be so fast i literally couldn't see my own hands and neither could others.....but now looking back i didn't have the best form so now im working on getting "Ghost Hands" with good form too. =)