PDA

View Full Version : Authentic Chinese Martial Arts

flying_phoenix
06-04-2007, 02:25 PM
I am new to Houston, TX and have learned that the famous Professor Wang JuRong taught here. I am interested in learning authentic Chinese Martial Arts from credible and authenic instructors who have studied under her.

Does anyone have any suggestions on who her top students were and possible where they teach?

Flying Phoenix

golden arhat
06-04-2007, 02:40 PM
umm at the risk of acting like an mma fanboy

try an mma school first and then try a kung fu class

plz
not to say anything about various masters etc

but in all honesty u will probably end up being a better "martial" artist for it

Three Harmonies
06-04-2007, 02:43 PM
Good post bro!
Jake :cool:

Yum Cha
06-04-2007, 04:25 PM
I'd lie to pipe in as well...

Try Basketball, You'll never learn a jump shot with MMA or TCMA.

No, don't reply, just try it, you'll see what I mean.

Never mind what you want, I really know better, trust me.

Cheers

Merryprankster
06-04-2007, 04:37 PM
Although possibly not well articulated, I think golden arhat's point may well have been "what's your goal?"

And once you have that in mind, match the instructor to your goals.

Some people want to do stuff for fitness, others want to fight, some want to explore culture, while learning to fight, whatever.

That said, I can't help you, other than to say "what's your goal :D"

Mr Punch
06-04-2007, 05:25 PM
"what's your goal?"
He has already answered:

I am interested in learning authentic Chinese Martial Arts from credible and authenic instructors who have studied under her (Wang JuRong)

Therefore Golden Arhat's response is redundant and patronizing.

Merryprankster
06-04-2007, 05:33 PM
Actually, that may not be the ultimate goal.

I mean it may be - but it could also be seen as an enabling step. If my goal is a car repair and I'm looking for a good mechanic, and I've heard this person is a good mechanic, I might phrase it the way phoenix did.