PDA

View Full Version : Tiger Swallow Style

ittokaos
06-12-2007, 04:34 PM
Good Afternoon,

This is about Tiger Swallow Fist.

I have been playing the Virtua Fighter series for many years and I have never really cared about the styles that the characters fought with until recent years.
(It's gonna be one of those questions.)

Now, the character of Lau Chan uses a style called Koen Ken in japanese but it is translated (Loosely i'd imagine )to Tiger Swallow Fist in english. I originally assumed that it was a fake style that was especially created for the game. However, recently I've found that not only was it a real style but that the creator went and researched each style individually before putting them into the game. '

Futher research into this matter (playing shenmue 2 as well as surfing the net) has revealed that it is a style that exsisted long ago but was "banned " due to the fear that it caused. It also revealed that it is derived from Yanqing Quan which also known as Mizong Quan(Huo Yuan Jia's style (Jet Li in Fearless)).

My question(s) is: Is this an actual style? Did it exist at all and if so who still knows it? Is the game pretty true to the style? Is it still being taught?

I understand that no one may have an answer to this question but I that I would try to see what I find.

Thank you all for your help

WF

David Jamieson
06-12-2007, 04:40 PM
games and movies that are for entertainment are not educational and are true to nothing but their own form.

even when they are "based" in some other thing, doesn't give them truth.

MasterKiller
06-12-2007, 04:49 PM
Tiger Swallow Fist is a set of forms, derived from N. Praying Mantis, but practiced by a lot of Long Fist schools as well.

Little Tiger Swallow (xiao hu yan chaun) is the original form, and the Big and Middle sets were invented much later.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K0NKHVvGUS0

RD'S Alias - 1A
06-12-2007, 06:19 PM
Actually, it's Premantis built on Tai Tzu Hong Chuan according to my research.